Understanding the Five Elements of Feng Shui

Richard Tay

One of the very basic principles of Five Elements of Fengshui is namely, Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal & Water. There are two main Fengshui cycles or interaction between the Five Elements, which is the Productive or Generative, & the Destructive or Counteraction cycle.

According to Five Elements of Fengshui or Wu Xing and Phase Theory, the structure of the Cosmos mirrors the five phases. Each phase has a complex series of association with different aspects of nature. Hence, they are used by Fengshui, Astrology, traditional Chinese Medicine, Music, Military strategies and Martial Arts.

Fengshui Practitioners use Five Elements Phases represented within Ba Gua, associating it with colours, seasons, energy, shape, symbols & signs.

This ancient methodology  has successfully helped humankind for centuries, decades & even until now as never before. If the lodging that we live in are in suffocation & suppressed environment, we can apply Fengshui knowledge to harmonise and charge our energy, hence, improving our life with happiness, health, prosperity, wealth and smart children.

Chinese zodiac elements

Elements Metal Wood Water Fire Earth
Zodiac Signs (Yang) Monkey Tiger Rat Horse Dragon / Dog
Zodiac Signs (Yin) Rooster Rabbit Pig Snake Ox / Sheep

5 Elements Feng Shui

Elements Metal Wood Water Fire Earth
Colors White Green Black Red Brown
Seasons Autumn Spring Winter Summer Intermediate
Weathers Dry Wind Cold Hot Wet
Directions West East North South Central
Planets Venus Jupiter Mercury Mars Saturn
Heavenly Stems Geng Xin Jia Yi Ren Gui Bing Ding Wu Ji
Year Ends with 0, 1 4, 5 2, 3 6, 7 8, 9
Hours 15-19 3-7 21-01 9-13 1-3,7-9,13-15,19-21
Number 1 2 3 4 5
Heavenly Creatures White Tiger Green Dragon Black Tortoise Vermilion Bird Yellow Dragon